Tags

, , , ,

ME copy

 

Has it really been a year?

It seems to have gone so fast – from writing the very first (and slightly wobbly) blog post last July, to gradually settling in and finding my feet…well, not ‘feet’ so much as hands on a keyboard. Ach, you know what I mean…

What is it about blogging that is so enjoyable? I think what I mainly like about it is the chance to be creative and expressive – so many creative things that I normally like to do involve a lot of time and materials, and usually involve the carpet being covered in glitter and wool and buttons flying about the place. But blogging is different – it allows me to be creative in a quick and easy way – I just sit down at the end of the day on my computer, or use my phone while I’m waiting at the dentist’s surgery and quickly jot down my ideas, rants and general ramblings…

I’m not sure if I would have become a blogger had it not been for Amelia. I mean, sure I might have attempted some sort of crochet blog or crafting blog (maybe I might, now that I’m comfortable with it) but anything like that would have inevitably fallen by the wayside, my passion for them being strong, but nowhere near the strength of the passion felt by a Mother for her daughter.

So. It’s been a year. Hopefully there will be more blog posts. Hopefully I will continue to enjoy this blogging experience, and hopefully people will continue to enjoy reading about my life with Amelia. I feel lucky to have been given the gift of being able to express myself properly and to enjoy the process of writing. My parents encouraged reading from a young age and I’ve always had a passion for books. Amelia seems to have followed suit – as soon as she wakes in the morning she asks for her books, which is no bad thing.

I adore writing. I adore books. I love literature. I love the written and spoken word. I’m an English teacher and I love it. I don’t profess to be an amazing writer, but I know I love to write. My Father was once an English teacher. His Father had a lyrical and unique manner of storytelling. HIS Father’s Father was an English and Irish teacher in a small school in rural Northern Ireland. We have family members who are published writers. I hope, someday, to follow suit.

But even if I don’t, I will always have this blog.

And I love it.