Tags

, , , ,

We all know about the current trend for things in jars. It’s no longer the domain of geeky men who like to build little ships in bottles for hours on end. Now, its been adopted by everyone – crafters, collectors, and in the case of this particular blog post – giving gifts. I’ve used jars as a gift before if you want to read about my Christmas crochet lidded jar you can see how to add some crochet-craftiness to the decoration of your jars – it just gives them that extra sparkle.

This year, I decided to put together a Mother’s Day gift jar for the special Mothers in my life, my own lovely Mum and my very kind Mother-in-law. They’re both amazing women and I thought this year I’d like to try something different to show my appreciation of them. I also think it adds just a little bit of a personal touch. There are so many ideas on Pinterest of what you can include in these gift jars, and I’d like to think I’ve added in a few ideas of my own. These jars are loads of fun to do for crafty geeks like me – and not overly expensive if you know where to find the items. They’re even good for birthdays or hen party gifts – any event at all can be themed accordingly.

SONY DSC

Here’s a rough guide to how I put mine together. You’ll need:

A large mason jar (got mine at Home Bargains for 89p)

Some ribbon or trimmings

A gift tag (personalised if you wish – I made mine on canva.com)

Items to put inside the jar, (usually ‘minis’) such as:

  • lip balm
  • foot cream
  • nail varnish
  • a scratchcard
  • bubble bath
  • face mask
  • miniature liqueur (Bailey’s, Gin, whatever their preferred tipple is)
  • emery boards
  • stud earrings
  • lip gloss
  • mini eye-shadow
  • love hearts
  • lollipop
  • small chocolate
  • sweets
  • foundation sponge

Once you’ve filled the jar with all the little treats and surprises, tie your pretty ribbon around it and you’re done! All you need is a gift tag and you’re ready to show the Mother figure in your life how much you appreciate her. Happy Mother’s Day to all you amazing Mums out there.

Now, can someone show this post to my kids when they’re old enough to do me a gift jar?

Mum Meme

