Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’ve always been a fan of local baby food company Heavenly Tasty Organics. So, when they asked my little ones to try out a new product and tell them what we thought, I agreed immediately. Their products are always good quality and reasonably priced too. They sent us The Happy Halo Bites in both flavours, Apple and Banana Flavour.

SONY DSC

I was very keen to see what the kids thought of them, but I had to wait a week or so since Adam was suffering from Croup (poor wee dude) and I wanted his tastebuds to be firing on all cylinders when he tried them the first time. He is very vocal about what food he likes – probably gets that from his Mum! So I knew he would tell me in his own way what he thought of them.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

So this morning, for breakfast, I decided to try them out as a cereal. They can be eaten as a dry snack or with milk as a cereal in the morning. There’s a good portion in the bag, enough to last I’d say a week’s worth of cereal if you’re giving a normal portion and not overloading. Adam tried the banana flavour and Amelia tried the apple and even Amelia’s doll Rosie, wanted in on the action!

Before I gave them to the kids, I had a little taste myself and I felt they were lovely –

SONY DSC

the flavour was enjoyable but it didn’t have that artificial taste that so many fruit flavoured foods have – you could tell it was an organic product with no extra hidden ‘rubbish’. I also liked the way it softened with the milk but it didn’t go to mush – usually with some other similar looking cereals you end up picking squashed bits from all sorts of places. These definitely lasted longer before they dissolved.

What’s great about this product is that it contains ancient organic grains buckwheat and amaranth, blended with natural organic fruit, with nothing added, not even sugar or salt. That’s a biggie for me. I’m an easygoing Mum, I allow my kids to have treats but this is a great option for keeping things healthy and organic; and even though they’re a locally based NI company, they are really branching out big time and you can find out where to buy their products here.

So, what was the final verdict? Well, Amelia ate most of hers before she had to nip off to nursery; but she declared it ‘yummy’ asking could she have some for supper later on. It definitely got her seal of approval. And the little dude? Well, not only did he eat his entire bowl…but he finished the rest of his sister’s too.

SONY DSC

A big thumbs up from Adam for the Happy Halo Bites!

