CarouselBanner1

A few months ago I wrote a blog post about my cousin’s son, who is undergoing treatment for cancer, at only 2 years of age. Members of our family have been working together to do their bit to raise money to help Sam get future treatment outside Ireland, and recently, I decided to ‘do my bit’ also.

Of course, being typical me, I didn’t do a traditional or tried and tested fundraiser. Oh, no, I had to do something ‘different’. Don’t ask me why, but I’m always setting myself these random, crazy challenges or having ‘plans’ that involve all sorts of unusual ideas. So when I announced to my family that I was going to do a Pop Up Restaurant, little did I realise the amount of work that would be involved.

Work or no work, this idea, however, had to succeed. I really hoped it would be a success and that we would not only give people a good night out, but also raise bucketloads of money for Sam’s cause.

We managed to find a venue and we also got all the food and ingredients donated fromSONY DSC businesses for free. I couldn’t believe the generosity of people. All I did was phone them up or walk in to their premises and they literally said yes within 30 seconds of me explaining about Sam.

Members from Fortwilliam Musical Society worked as volunteer wait staff (wee stars, they even donated all their tips to Sam) and my Mum and friends worked tirelessly in the kitchen, while my Dad and I hounded people to buy ballot tickets.

There are so many horrible things happening in the world, so it can be heartening to see how an important cause can bring out the best in people. The generosity of people really can be astounding.

I knew that people would care and I knew they would want to help, but nothing prepared me for the kindness, benevolence, and sheer decent, honest goodness that seemed to pour forth throughout the evening. We sold out of ballots and had to improvise by making more of our own using paper, we also had offers of people wanting to help with any future fundraising plans that we might have…the generosity was endless, and it gave me just a smidgen of understanding as to how Sam’s parents must feel as they see people rallying to help raise money for their lovely son.

SONY DSCWe managed to raise £2,100 pounds that night, and every phone call made, every list written, every strawberry or onion chopped, every balloon blown up, every minute spent working on the event was completely and totally worth it. Although I imagine, even if we had burned the food, or missed someone’s order or had some other disaster, I don’t think people would have cared….they were all there to help Sam and came Together For Sam.

I think that says it all.

The following two words don’t remotely come close to doing their job, but on behalf of Sam and his parents…

Thank you.

NB: For more information, or to make a donation of your own, please visit Together For Sam, or read Sam’s Mum and Dad’s blog, Our SuperSam.

