Tags

, ,

Maternity leave.SONY DSC

Those magic words.

All those amazing and comprehensive plans you make for what you will accomplish on maternity leave (aside from actually having the baby, that is)

Here were my plans that I intended to complete during naptimes…

1. Do some reading.
2. Catch up on box set DVDs
3. Have lovely lunches and catch-ups with friends
4. Decorate my bedroom.
5. Crochet, crochet, crochet
6. Lose weight.

The only one of those I accomplished was number 6, which to be fair, was by far the most important one. I had this notion that aside from looking after the baby I would have all this time left over to DO things.

*snort*

Sorry, just laughing at my own naive stupidity there. Join me, please.

Of course you get ‘time’, and that time is either spent feeding, changing, playing with baby, dressing, bathing, walking/pushing, driving, shopping or, mercifully after all that, sleeping. I don’t remotely resent it, however, and I really loved just being with Amelia all day, because I knew that time was ticking away, counting down to the day I had to go back to work.

That day was two weeks before Christmas.

Gulp.

But…

I’m still alive. It was actually okay. I’m lucky enough to work in a place with easy going, welcoming and helpful colleagues, who are allowing me to ease back in gently. It feels like I’ve never been away, and Amelia is so happy with the baby minder that I have no worries on that score.

So far, so good.

But you might be wondering what the best thing is about going back to work after maternity leave?

No. More. Maternity pay.

Thank GOD! 🙂