Tags

, , , , ,

I just took a short while to clear out the wardrobe of clothes that no longer fit Amelia.

Scratch that.SONY DSC

I took SEVERAL HOURS to go through the wardrobe.

She has more clothes than Barbie. Actually, maybe more than Lady Gaga. I kid you not.

So many of her lovely outfits don’t fit her anymore, she is growing faster than you would believe, I swear, I blink and she has grown another centimetre; I keep expecting to look at her one day and see her burst out of her clothing like the Hulk or something, except preferably not green. Or angry. Or muscular.

Ahem.

Well, I went through the clothes anyway, and ‘oohed’ and ‘ahhed’ over all the gorgeous dresses and t-shirts that she will no longer wear, some of which I’m ashamed to say, she never even got round to wearing (our friends and relatives are SO generous).

Anyone with children knows that you can all too easily become suffocated (sometimes literally) by the sheer volume of clothing and laundry that piles up. Sometimes I feel like a Victorian laundress! All of this for one tiny person!

To make life easier, I’ve tried to re-organise the wardrobe so that her clothes are easy to get at and its quick to see what’s available in a flash. This is where my crazy Monica-Geller-Obsessiveness comes in. Here are some tips for organizing baby clothes Emma-Style:

1. Create a system. It doesn’t matter what your rule for this system is, provided you follow it and don’t deviate from it. It could be clothes grouped according to colour, age, or type of garment, whatever works. I tried several systems, finally landing on grouping clothes by their garment type – all trousers together, all t-shirts together and so forth. I find it helps me see what options there are more easily than trawling through a whole massive pink section of items.

2. Keep baby-gros separate from ‘proper clothes’, if you’re anything like me, you probably have what seems like thousands of them and they would take over your wardrobe like a virus if you tried to include them. I keep them folded in a separate drawer unit. Leaves more space for hanging ‘real’ clothes.

3. As soon as an item is too small, or too stained (sweet potato stains are IMPOSSIBLE to remove) make sure you don’t put it back in the wardrobe, I know this sounds obvious but it is easy to forget and just shove it all back in there. Then when you go to get something in a hurry you end up having to take it off the baby again because its too tight, short, etc.

4. Hanging internal storage systems are great, I saw an excellent idea here that I’m going to try out. It helps you organise week’s worth of outfits and keep them folded and ready to hand while not disturbing the rest of your garments. Is it weird that I’m excited about this…? Don’t answer that. Also being able to make compartments up in your chest of drawers or wardrobe is great for separating items so they are easy to see. IKEA do a great range that I love. I use it to keep my makeup in a drawer also so it is easily accessible. I don’t see why it wouldn’t work for small items like baby socks, hats and so forth.

5. Sort through the clothing about once a month or every six weeks if you possibly can, it will help you stay on top of it all and not become overwhelmed by it.

I just came up with a 6th tip that I haven’t done myself yet; use a label maker to mark things when you’re storing them. Oh….excitement…I wonder how much label makers cost….? I might get one, a
ll in the name of blog research, of course!

*Trots off to the shops… 😛

