Tags

, , ,

I LOVE HALLOWEEN.

I. LOVE. HALLOWEEN. I REALLY DO. I’M WRITING IN CAPITALS SO YOU CAN FEEL MY ENTHUSIASM. I LOOOOOVVVVEEEE HALLOWEEN.

Okay, we’ve established that I love Halloween. Therefore, like every so-called sensible parent, I fully intended to pass on all my obsessions, interests and opinions onto my impressionable child. As you do.

This includes an appreciation of dressing up at Halloween. And even though she won’t ever remember it, or care, or be bothered about it in the slightest, I dressed her up for her first Halloween. It was totally self indulgent and a little bit silly, but I’m glad I did it, and it was a bit of fun.

What did I dress her up as, I hear you say? Well, since we were staying with her Godparents, it had to be a group costume, and what else except The Scooby Doo Gang? I went as Velma, The G Man (Dad) went as Shaggy, Uncle B went as Fred, Aunty C went as Daphne, and Amelia went as Scooby Doo. I was very (sadly) proud of all our efforts to do the Scooby Doo Gang on a budget, and also I was able to make Amelia’s costume by dying one of her old baby gro’s brown, sticking felt spots on to it and cutting the sole off a Scooby Doo slipper and making it into a hat. I had waaayyyyy too much time on my hands! The joke will be on me when I go back to work!

All in all it was a Happy Halloween, especially when after we put Amelia to bed, we watched ‘Scream’ for old times sake and Uncle B nearly wet himself with fright. He will HATE me for telling you that. Serves him right, the big baby.

