Tags

, , , ,

I recently had my 5 minutes of fame…well, sort of fame…well, I was in the local paper, the North Belfast News. Each week they do a feature called ‘Northern Exposure’ which is a fact file questionnaire about a local person. I really enjoyed answering these questions as it gave me a chance to share some things that are important to me, and let’s face it, I’m SO shy, quiet, and reserved that they really had to persuade me to share…. 😉

I thought it would be nice to share them here on my blog…

Where were you born and where did you grow up?

I was born in the RVH in Belfast and grew up in North Belfast.

Where did you go to school?

My primary school was St. Therese of Lisieux and then I went to Dominican College.

What is your earliest memory?

I think it’s of my Nana Bradley telling my brother and I stories when we were little to help us go to sleep. She was brilliant at making up her own stories and they always had a message or moral to them.

What did you want to be when you were a child?

I wanted to be a journalist, actually – I was always into reading and writing, if I could re-train I think I would do that, or be a novelist, God knows what I would write about!

What are the worst and best jobs you have ever had?

The worst job was working until midnight and on Christmas Day in a 24hr garage, the best job is my job now, I teach English to pupils with social, emotional and behavioural difficulties and I absolutely love it.

Who is your most inspiring person?

This may sound cheesy, but it’s my Mum. She is so strong and good. She is a realist but also has a brilliant sense of humor and is my best friend. She gives excellent advice and is the rock in our family, and has always believed in me.

What is your favourite book, film, and band?

Favourite book has to be ‘The Crimson Petal and the White’ by Michael Faber, it’s very Dickensian and gritty, a brilliant read. My favourite film is ‘Gone with the Wind’, it’s a great film for a rainy day with a cup of tea and a cosy blanket, and my favourite band is Take That – stereoptypical but I don’t care!

Who would play you in a film of your life?

Oh, that’s a hard one! I wish I could say Catherine Zeta Jones! But probably someone like Debra Messing, who I think is quite under-rated and a very good actress – plus I love her hair!

Do you have a favourite joke or quote?

My favourite quote is Gandalf from the Lord of the Rings “End? No, the journey doesn’t end here. Death is just another path, one that we all must take. The grey rain-curtain of this world rolls back, and all turns to silver glass, and then you see it. White shores, and beyond, a far green country under a swift sunrise.” It’s so beautiful and comforting.

What is your most treasured possession?

I think it would be my wedding and engagement rings, they are beautiful but they also have sentimental importance to me.

What is your greatest fear?

Someone I love getting ill or dying, I think most people worry about that. I also have a fear of drowning, even though I can swim!

What are you very good at?

I’m good at crafty type things, I like to crochet and make things, and I’m good at organizing…I’m almost a bit OCD about it, I think it drives my family crazy!

What are you most proud of?

I’m most proud of my beautiful daughter Amelia, she is such a happy baby and a real joy. I recently started writing a blog about my experiences of being a new Mum – I’m really enjoying it and its nice to interact with other Mum Bloggers online.

What place would you like to visit before you die?

I think I would most like to visit Egypt and go on a cruise on the Nile, it’s always fascinated me. I would love to see New Zealand too.

What is the last text message you received?

It was from my best friend Ciara, wishing me a Happy Birthday. She lives in Bristol and I miss her a lot.

If you were a politician what is the first thing you would do?

I would put a lot more money into Special Education and I would try to make a lot more jobs available for newly qualified teachers. I would also try to get more funding available for arts groups like Fortwilliam Musical Society as they give so much back to the community. Totally selfish motives, but hey!

If you won the lottery what would you spend it on?

I would make sure all my family were looked after first of all, and I would buy an apartment overlooking Central Park in New York. I would also maybe start my own business – I’ve always dreamed of owning a Guest House with a Delicatessen and café where my husband could do the cooking – he is a great cook.

Who would be your five guests (dead or alive) for the perfect dinner party?

It would have to be Sean Bean (my friends will laugh at that one!), Jane Austen as I have lots of questions for her, Neil Diamond (I’ve loved him since I was a little girl), David Tennant and Marilyn Monroe.

How do you want to be remembered?

I think I would like to be remembered as a genuine, honest person who did her best and was a loving and loyal friend. 

What do you most like about North Belfast?

I like the people most. Being a member and past chairperson of Fortwilliam Musical Society has helped me to see what talented people live in North Belfast and also how neighborly and friendly they all are.

What would you change if anything?

I would hope for lots more small businesses to be on the Antrim Road – we are crying out for more café’s, restaurants and bars, it would be great to see more of them.